flashthoughts

My “Mary” Christmas

Posted on: December 14, 2010

I should have known something was going on when I found myself logged in to Facebook yesterday morning. I don’t usually log in. I just see everyone’s updates on my phone as text messages. However, that wasn’t to be yesterday. There I was, scrolling through my newsfeeds, reading updates, seeing links and pictures that had been posted and then I saw a friend’s update:

IMMEDIATE FOSTER NEEDED FOR A PREGNANT DASCHUND MIX DUMPED LAST NIGHT OUTSIDE IN THE COLD! BEGGING FOR A FOSTER IN SOUTH ALABAMA.. OTHERWISE SHE IS GOING TO BE EUTHANIZED!And I kept scrolling down the page. . . . .or at least I did for a minute or two. . . . .but I found myself drawn back to my friend’s post. Why am I reading this again? I don’t want a dog. I have cats. I don’t have to worry about my cats, if I want to go somewhere. I just go. They have a litter box they can use. But a dog? Nope, can’t do that with a dog. You have to be able to let them outside to use the bathroom. Not to mention THIS dog is PREGNANT!!! No, uh-uh – sorry, can’t help.

Nagging, nagging, nagging inside my head. This Mother Dog is gonna be put to sleep if someone doesn’t step up and offer to care for her, at least temporarily. But ME? Does it have to ME? And I felt in my heart, ever so slightly, the question, “Why not you?”

That is how I found myself on the phone, talking with the person that my friend had listed as the contact. I told him that I don’t live close to their area but that I would be willing to take in the dog, IF they absolutely, could not find anyone else to take her in. I told him I just couldn’t stand the thought of her (and her babies) being put to sleep. I gave him my phone number and he added me as a friend on facebook and the messages began to fly! By yesterday afternoon, I learned that I would, indeed, be given the task of caring for this dog on a foster basis.

So, my mind began to process this information and I thought, “I’ve got to get the word about her to my friends, too. I need to post something to see if I can pique some interest. But I’d like to give her a name.” That’s when I started thinking, since it’s December, what kind of Christmas name could I give her? I thought of the usual “Holly”, “Garland” and such but none of them were sounding right. Not to mention, after I thought about it, I didn’t really want to stick the poor dog with a Christmas name ALL year long, did I? Then it came to me, it’s December – she’s pregnant – she has no place to go – her name will be Mary!

I sent my friend a message to let her know that I would be taking care of Mary and I asked her if she wanted to know how I came up with that name. I told her, “Well, it IS December and she IS pregnant! LOL” This is what her reply to that was: “Mary is perfect, “no room at the inn.” You have become the inn keeper providing the manger!”I don’t know about becoming the ‘inn keeper’ but I do know that Hebrews 13:2 tells us, “Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels.” I don’t want to miss my chance on possibly entertaining an angel. “A dog as an angel?” you may be asking yourself. Well, I believe that God can send us angels in whatever form He chooses.

So now you know the story of MY Mary Christmas. If you think you might be interested in giving Mary a permanent home or one of her puppies after they arrive and are old enough, just leave a comment with your contact information and I will get it to the right people. I will post a picture of her later tonight (hopefully) but I am out of time for now.

Have a blessed day everyone 🙂

3 Responses to "My “Mary” Christmas"

I love it!!! And yes, I believe an angel can appear as a dog. I once had one show up from out of the woods when my car broke down. That huge German Shepherd stayed right by my side until help arrived.
Thank you for being willing to be the innkeeper for Mary, even if she isn’t “with child”.

Awww Donna – thanks 🙂 I should be getting her tomorrow (Friday) and I’m gonna post some pics of her then 🙂

Awwww!!!!!! 😀 Lucy is gonna love her!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

