flashthoughts

JUKE JOINT TO CHURCH

Posted on: December 16, 2010

Juke Joint. Bar. Lounge. Beer Joint. I’ve heard this type of establishment called several different names over the years. There was one located on the side of a highway between the little town I lived in (from the time I was in 5th grade) and the town where we always went to shop for groceries and other things. This little establishment was called “The Little Dutchman”. It was there for many years. I’m not sure when it closed, really, but I got married in 1981 and moved away.

I moved back in 1990 and I noticed one day that the establishment that once had been “The Little Dutchman” looked to be coming to life again. I remember driving by and thinking maybe it would be something good this time. Maybe a safe, clean place for teenagers to hang out – like a game room or something. Alas, that wasn’t to be. To my chagrin, it was going to be another “bar”. So sad, I thought, but maybe it won’t last long. I even said a prayer, something to the effect of “Lord, I’m asking You to turn that place into something good. Let this business go OUT of business and bring something good there.”

Sure enough, that little place didn’t last long and it closed down. Not much later, it opened up again. But, to my bitter disappointment, it re-opened as yet another bar. Still, I didn’t really give up hope that one of two things was eventually going to happen. Either that building was going to be torn down one day or it was going to be used for something good. I’m not sure how long it stayed open as the last bar but it wasn’t long. The building sat there empty again and I was beginning to think it would sit there and become dilapidated and have to be torn down one day. But I still remembered that prayer I had prayed asking God to let that building be used for something good.

I am so glad to tell you that driving by that building on my way home from work a week or so ago, I noticed a new sign on it – and that sign said, “COMING SOON – GATEWAY TABERNACLE”

PRAISE THE LORD!!! I just KNEW that building was going to be used for something good one day. Can I tell you it STILL gives me “Holy Ghost” bumps and makes me want to SHOUT when I think that building that once housed the devil and his demons is now FILLED with God and His love? A place once filled with people that were, most likely, feeling as if no one cared and that they had no hope – nowhere to turn and the only thing in that building was something to make that feeling even worse. NOW that building may still have some people enter that are feeling as if no one cares and that they have no hope, HOWEVER, by entering that building they will come to know there is someone that cares and they will be introduced to the One True Hope!

I only wish I were eloquent enough to put into words all that I really feel in my heart when I think about it.

Does it do anything in your Spirit to know that what was once a place of despair and loneliness is now going to be a place of LIFE and HOPE? Please share your thoughts in a comment below. I’d love to hear what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

CATEGORIES

