flashthoughts

MY PLANS – HIS PLANS

Posted on: February 16, 2011

Have you ever had a day where you are made unmistakably aware that your plans are not God’s plans? I’ve had plenty and yesterday was certainly one of them.

My daughter had to go out of town (about an hour away) for a job assignment so I planned to take off at noon (when she finished her last class) and we were going to head that way. I figured we’d go get her job assignment done and we should probably be getting home around 2:30 p.m. at the latest. Therefore, I had made a list of things that I wanted to get done after we got home.

This is a picture of the board where I had written MY plan:

I was going to have a VERY productive afternoon for sure! But all that changed, when we were about 15 miles from the exit to her job assignment. The passenger-side front tire blew out! Yes – here we were, on the side of the Interstate about to have to try changing a tire. Something we know the basics of having to do but neither of us had ever done before! But the Lord sent us an angel in the form of a US Postal Service worker. He pulled over and changed the tire for us. He got the little donut tire on and let the jack down and, you guessed it, the donut tire was almost flat!!! This man then told us we could drive 5-10 mph, down the shoulder of the Interstate, to the next exit as it was just a mile or two up the road and we could get air put in the tire there. He not only told us that, but he also led the way, went to the station with us and put the air in the tire for us. Praise the Lord! We made it to my daughter’s job assignment and headed back home – yes, driving 50 mph on the Interstate! LOL

Needless to say, my head was swirling with thoughts of where and how to get the tire fixed, WHY did this have to happen right now, yada, yada – you get the picture. Then it occurred to me how blessed we were.

The Lord made sure we were on the Interstate when the tire blew out so there was plenty of room on the shoulder to take care of it. The blow out did not cause an accident and He sent someone to help us which enabled us to take care of business and be able to make it safely back home. You see, I’ve known for a while that I needed to get a couple of new tires but was hoping the ones I had would last until I could get my tax refund. It was definitely God’s plan that this happened when and where it did instead of it happening while we were on the way to work/school or on our way home from work/school because on the road we travel there isn’t much of a shoulder to work with and, most likely, no one would have stopped to help.

Yes, I was definitely reminded of Jeremiah 29:11 yesterday – I know what I’m doing. I have it all planned out – plans to take care of you, not abandon you, plans to give you the future you hope for.

Oh, the list of my plans? Well, it is still there, on the board at home as none of it has been completed. We didn’t make it home until 3:30 p.m. and then we had to go get new tires so we were even later getting home than we are when we’ve been at work/school all day. But, there is something that has been added.

Here, see for yourself……

Can you see what it says? It says, “HA HA HA HA HA HA (That’s God laughing at MY plans for the afternoon! LOL)

I have to admit, it was an afternoon filled with lots of roller coaster emotions and I was still reeling from it all last night when I received an extremely unexpected invitation which set off many more feelings that were just a bit overwhelming! Hopefully, I’ll be able to share more about that invitation later but for now, just remember that no matter what your plans may be, God’s plans are so much wiser and better!

1 Response to "MY PLANS – HIS PLANS"

Loved this. I live here daily. Laughing at the twists and turns my day goes….Good post, and glad you got home safely.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

