flashthoughts

WHO SETS YOUR STANDARD?

Posted on: June 30, 2011

My daughter is driving us to work/school this week. Her friend had given her a ‘contraption’ to plug into her tape player that enables her to listen to her IPOD in the car. Tuesday morning on our way in she asked if I minded if she turned it on. I told her it would be fine. We listened to a few songs, she skipped some making the remark that ‘they aren’t really bad but you wouldn’t like them’ and then one came on by Taylor Swift. My daughter made a remark then that I didn’t think much about at the time. However, it kept re-playing over and over in my head during the day and I began to wonder why. So, I started thinking about it and I realized the Lord was asking the question, “Who sets your standard? The world or Me?” WOW!

My daughter made an ‘innocent’ statement that all of us probably at one time or another has made, myself included. Her statement that morning was “Candace Bure listens to Taylor Swift’s music, so it’s okay.” Now, not saying that we have all made that particular statement; but, some very similar, I’m sure. We tend to think of people – famous or not – that we think “have it all together” or are “more spiritual” than we are and we think that if they do or say something then that MUST mean it is okay.

Can anyone relate to what I’m talking about? Now, I’m not saying that it is NOT okay to listen to Taylor Swift. The songs of hers that I HAVE heard are very innocent. I’m simply saying that we have got to quit looking to what others do as a way to judge if something is okay for us or not.

The same way that we should not use ourselves as a measuring stick, “We do not dare to compare ourselves with those who think they are very important. They use themselves to measure themselves, and they judge themselves by what they themselves are. This shows that they know nothing.” {II Corinthians 10:12 NCV} No, we need to measure ourselves “according to the measure of the rule which God hath distributed to us” {v. 13} instead.

So, maybe this was simply for me today or maybe it was meant for someone reading this to also ask themself the same question, “Who sets my standard? Me? My peers? Or do I allow Christ to set my standard, as it should be?”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

