flashthoughts

A THANK YOU 52 YEARS IN THE MAKING

Posted on: July 14, 2011

I would like to take a few minutes today to say Thank You to someone – My MOM!

52 years ago today she was giving birth to me. I wrote a message on her facebook wall (YES, my MOM has a facebook page *smile*) and I suddenly realized that I wanted EVERYONE to know how much I appreciate her. This is what I wrote on her wall:  

Ahhhhhh – you say you can’t remember things but I bet you remember what you were doing 52 years ago today 🙂
 
I just want to say THANK YOU for being the wonderful Mom that you are and always have been. Thank you for being willing to take care of me, love me and bring me up in a home full of love. We may not have always had the ‘latest’ or ‘greatest’ of whatever material things were out there, but we ALWAYS had a house FULL of love and caring and those are things that are so much more important than the material stuff. Thank you for loving not only me, but for loving my Daddy and my sister and brothers. Thank you for always showing me that, no matter what else may be going on around us, family is what matters the most. Thank you for ALWAYS showing us Christ’s love – even though you may not have realized you were doing it. And please accept my apology for taking 52 years to say THANK YOU 🙂
 
I love you Mom!
 
I’m quite sure that during my ‘growing up’ years, I didn’t always feel so thankful to have a Mom and Dad that loved me so much. They loved me enough to care who my friends were, where I was going and how I was spending my time. They loved me enough to punish me when I was disobedient and I believe I am a better person for it. Horror of horrors, YES, they even used the belt on me!!! I grew up in the days when most parents disciplined their children and I am so glad I did.
 
While I don’t really remember it on my own, I know that my older sister has told of how our parents always took us to church – wait – I don’t mean they took us and dropped us off at church – we ALL went to church as a family. Somewhere along the way, though, I think my Dad got hurt and quit going. But that didn’t mean he didn’t love me or the rest of us – he just had to deal with things in his way. I am happy to say that before he died I KNOW that my Dad was at peace with the way things were between him and his Lord and I KNOW that I will see my Daddy again when I get to heaven. I tell you that part so that you can understand what I said to my Mom about always showing us Christ’s love, whether she realized she was doing that or not.
 
My Mom will tell you that she gave her life to the Lord AFTER my Daddy died. Yes, she will tell you how they went to church before and how she THOUGHT she was ‘saved’. But she will also tell you how she realized how wrong she was and that NOW she KNOWS she has a relationship  with the Lord that she never had before. What a wonderful feeling to know that I will ALWAYS have my Mom AND my Dad! Death may separate us for a little while, but even that doesn’t change the fact that we will ALL be together FOREVER!
 
WOW! I guess I kind of got ‘off track’ a little bit but ALL those things are why I am able to say Thank You to my Mom today. My Mom still does a lot for me these days – like allowing me to drive her car next week when I have to go to North Carolina for a conference. She is always ready and willing to do whatever she can to help me or any of her children. She is most definitely a very special lady and that is why today, on my birthday, I had to do what I could to give her a little special recognition – even though she will say I shouldn’t have. That’s just another reason I love and thank her so much!
 
What about you? Who is a special person in your life you are thankful for. Take a moment and leave a comment to share with me and others who you are thankful for today and how they have blessed your life.
 
In His Love always 🙂
Tags: , ,

6 Responses to "A THANK YOU 52 YEARS IN THE MAKING"

Thankful for this post and the reminder to have a heart of gratitude. Today I’m thankful that God doesn’t give up on me when I wander, pout or generally act a fool. His grace covers me!

Amen! I just finished reading Ann Voskamp’s book – 1000 Gifts – and it has really made me stop and think to be thankful for ALL things 🙂 Praise God for His grace!

I’m thankful for my grandmother who always said “Ah, honey” to me when things got hard. Those simple words spoke volumes to my heart and made me feel so loved and valued!

Thank you for sharing that, Carey. Isn’t it amazing how two little words can have SUCH GREAT meaning 🙂

Kathryn – Thank You for posting this. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

Thank YOU for taking the time to read it, Paige! You are SUCH a sweetheart and dear friend. I love you BUNCHES!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

CATEGORIES

