flashthoughts

ONE WORD

Posted on: December 31, 2011

Last year I read a blog that someone posted about choosing a one word prayer for the upcoming year (2011). I prayed about it and felt the word for me was “Listen”. I felt I needed to learn to listen more, not only to God, but to others as well. Not just ‘hear’ what they were saying, but to take the time to really LISTEN – there IS a difference. I have been working on becoming a better listener and I believe I made some progress but I still have a long way to go, too. Just because 2011 is coming to an end doesn’t mean that I am going to stop working on it. I will continue.

I had not planned, however, on having a one word prayer for 2012. I felt I didn’t really understand it and felt I didn’t actually PRAY it enough. To be completely honest, it just seemed like yet another area where I had “dropped the ball” and had failed. Of course, as most anyone reading this probably knows, God had other plans. I suppose I should have known something was up when, seemingly out of the blue, that thought had just popped in my head one day. The thought that I just shouldn’t bother with it next year. I should have recognized that as my first clue – but I’m still a bit dense most of the time – LOL. It was sometime in November, around Thanksgiving actually, that I had that thought. Then things began to happen.

The first weekend in December, I was blessed to be a volunteer at the Beth Moore Living Proof Live Event in Pensacola, Florida. I was a helper for Lifeway Bookstores as a cashier. Several ladies were coming through my line buying the same kind of perpetual calendar. I decided I wanted one of them also and, when I had a chance, I went to look for it. However, I could not find that particular calendar anywhere. Apparently, it had been sold out. I did see one that immediately caught my eye as I was searching though and I remember thinking to myself, “Well, I DO need to familiarize myself with more of these”. So, I bought it instead. (No, I can’t tell you the name yet because that would TOTALLY ruin you trying to figure out my word on your own *insert wry smile*) Looking back, I now recognize that as one more step in the direction of my one word for 2012; but, I sure didn’t realize it then.

Over the last couple of weeks, I began to hear some ‘rumblings’ from others about the one word thing but each time I just thought, “Nope. Not messing with that this year.” Even though, somewhere in the back of my brain, it just kept nagging at me.

On Dec. 13 my sweet friend, Ayla, posted about her one word for 2011. You can read it here. I could never write a post as eloquent about my one word for 2011 as she did. You can tell from reading her post that she truly “pursued” her word and let it work in her life. After reading her post, I thought, “See! That’s why I don’t need to worry with it next year. I obviously didn’t ‘pursue’ my word this past year as I should have because I really couldn’t even find two good sentences to write about how it made a difference in my year.” So, once again, I was okay with not having ‘one word’ for this year.

About a week later, I received my new issue of Guideposts in the mail. I could not believe what was on the cover! Let me just show you……..

Coincidence? You can believe that, if you want, but, personally, I don’t believe in coincidence! No, His message was beginning to get through LOUD and CLEAR! I read Debbie Macomber’s article, which you can read here, and began to get a much better understanding of this ‘one word’ idea. I loved reading how she said she uses the word in her prayers, writes about it in her journal and discusses it with her friends. I was thinking as I was reading her article, THAT is something even I could do! I think this past year I tried to make it more difficult than it was meant to be. Reading her article had a tremendous impact on me. I said a prayer and said, “Okay, Father. If You want me to have one word this year, I need You to show me beyond the shadow of a doubt that the word I think You’ve given me is the correct word.”

A couple days later, I had time to weed through my emails – with all the crazy schedules lately and being off work a few days – I had let my emails pile up again. I am subscribed to quite a few blogs and it doesn’t take long for my emails (notifying me of new blog posts) to pile up. Before I opened the first email, I said a little prayer: “Lord, You know which word I think You have given me for 2012. If I am correct, please show me this word in at least two or three of these emails. That will be my confirmation.”

I opened Melissa Taylor’s post, Refresh and Satisfy, where I saw the word in her third paragraph! Then I opened the email that I receive from Sheri Rose Shepherd every day. It was titled, I Always Keep My Promises, and I saw the word again THREE times! On to the next blog, written by Renee Swope, where in the last paragraph she included a sentence with this word in it. By this time, I was sure of the word but somewhere in the back of my mind, I was still having some doubt about committing to choosing ONE WORD for 2012.

The very next day, another sweet friend, Donna Sumrall, posted a new blog on her website. If you want to know how this FINALLY convinced me that YES! I AM TO HAVE ONE WORD FOR 2012, then click here and read her post. And while you’re on her site, go ahead and subscribe to her blog because I can promise you, you will NOT be disappointed! That woman can write!!!

Oh – and looky there (as we say in the South) – I just used the word myself in that last sentence. Have you figured out yet what MY ONE WORD for 2012 is? Oh – one last hint – the name of the perpetual calendar that I bought? Promises from God’s Word

My one word for 2012 is PROMISE and one thing I know that I want to do is get in HIS Word and explore all of HIS promises and what is required of me to have each one. Did you ever notice that with each promise there is something required on our part? But that’s a blog for another day and this one has been long enough already!

I would love to know if YOU are going to choose ONE WORD for 2012. Would you leave a comment here sharing your word and how you came to know it is your word for 2012? Oh – and then go visit this site and read other’s stories about their word, too.

Blessings to all of you in this New Year! Love ya!

10 Responses to "ONE WORD"

Visiting from One Word 365 community. I love your word. It has so many possibilities!! I’m now following you, so I can see where “promise” takes you during the year. Thanks for sharing!!!

Kate,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I can’t wait to check out your blog 🙂

Promise is a great word. I can’t wait to see what God does with the “promise” in your life in 2012!

Thank you Emily! I’m looking forward to really getting in to this word this year 🙂

Promise. I am so humbled and glad that God makes and keeps promises. Thanks for sharing this.

AW! Thanks Angela! I’m touched that you had time to read it 🙂

[…] drew to a close, I found myself wishing for something profound to write about. I stumbled upon this idea from a friend’s facebook post. I started thinking about this idea and that for 2011 my word […]

Thanks so much for the ‘pingback’, wishfulthinker! Sure wish I could figure out who you are – lol – you got me stumped!

So well written!!! I am excited to hear more about your “one word” throughout the coming year! All of His promises for you are Yea and Amen!
You encourage me with your blog so often, even if I forget to tell you so. 2012 is going to be an incredible year….looking forward to seeing what God will do for you in it, my friend!

Thank you, Donna. You also bless and encourage me with yours. Like you, I don’t always have (or take) the time to leave a comment, but rest assured I DO read every one of your posts. I’m looking forward to seeing what God will do for ALL of us in this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

CATEGORIES

