flashthoughts

NEW YEAR OR NEW DAY?

Posted on: January 2, 2012

So long 2011. You were not very good to me. I’m glad to see you gone.

I believe 2012 is going to be a better year!

2011 was no friend of mine! I’m glad to see it gone.

The above statements are just some I’ve heard the last few days and yesterday, when I woke up, all the negative statements I’d been hearing were absolutely swirling around in my head! Along with part of a song – and I just didn’t know what to do with it all. It was in the back of my mind all day. I tried to sit down last night and put it into a post; but, still it just wasn’t coming together. I finally gave up and went to bed with this prayer: “Lord, I know You have these thoughts in my head for a reason. Please show me what You want me to do with them.”

This morning He let me know. It was as if He whispered to me “Who or what are you trusting in? Are you trusting in Me or the days on a calendar?” How fitting (and confirming) when I looked at my Promise Calendar today and saw one of the promises on it:

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NRSV)
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make straight your paths.”

Maybe you had an awful year and are ready for it to be over or maybe you had a great year and are hoping to have another just like it – No matter which category you fit in, would you take a minute to consider something?

Lamentations 3:23
Great is His faithfulness, His mercies begin afresh each morning

It doesn’t matter if we’ve had a good year or a bad year. Why? Because His mercies are new EVERY MORNING! Every time the Lord is gracious enough to allow you to wake up from your sleep, you have a fresh, clean slate to start with. You don’t have to wait an entire year to make a new start. In fact, I am going to do my best to start every morning from now on as a new beginning. After all, that’s what it is.  I am going to put my trust in HIM and not a year on the calendar.

Oh – and the song that was on my mind along with everything else? The part that kept playing over and over in my head was this:

Seek justice,
Love mercy,
Walk humbly with your God.

And, I have to add, that I find it very fitting that as I was sitting here working on this post, I saw a young friend post this as her status on Facebook:

the only way we’ll ever stand is on our KNEES with LIFTED hands …make us courageous

That is another part of the exact same song. The song is COURAGEOUS and is sung by Casting Crowns. If you’ve never heard it, take a minute to not only listen, but REALLY pay attention to the words (which will be on the screen) and let them soak in.

What about you? Don’t you think it would be much better to start new every morning instead of waiting an entire year? Would love to read your thoughts about this in the comments.

2 Responses to "NEW YEAR OR NEW DAY?"

Katheryn,
Thank you for being a good friend. I hope to See you soon, according to God Will.
I thank God for bring you to my life. Now we have to meet. Love you always.
new year goals
To get closer to Our Heavenly Father and go see my daughter.. He is a AWESOME GOD !

Love ya

Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement, Mary Jane. I’m sure that we will meet in person one day, if it is in God’s plan. Love ya my new friend 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

CATEGORIES

