flashthoughts

WHAT MAKES THIS ONE DIFFERENT?

Posted on: May 28, 2012

I came home from work on Wednesday, May 23 and there it was – a box sitting on my desk just waiting to be opened. I could hardly wait to see what was inside. I carefully cut the tape on the box so as not to damage the contents. I opened the flaps of the box and there it was, the very special book I had been waiting to receive. My sweet friend, Tammy, had told us about this book. She received one as a Mother’s Day gift from her husband. She told us how she and her husband had actually written part of this book. In fact, reading what  she wrote about it in her Facebook post is what got me so interested in it.

I am talking about the NIV Bible Across America. Have you heard about it? Did you know when it was making the tour across America? I did not. I had not heard – or maybe I should say I don’t remember hearing – anything about it until Tammy told us about it. This Bible celebrates the 30th anniversary of the most popular Bible translation of all time according to what was written on the cover box that it came in. In fact, let me share with you what else it says on that box: Covering over 30,000 verses, 90 cities and nearly nine months, the Bible Across America tour was an undertaking of Biblical proportions. With God’s blessing and the help of tens of thousands from coast to coast, we’ve successfully created the world’s first handwritten copy of the NIV Bible.

Yes – you read that right – HANDWRITTEN! This tour went all across America, including making a stop at the Mobile Museum of Art in Mobile, Alabama, and I honestly don’t remember hearing anything about it! The tour started September 30, 2008 and anyone and everyone was invited to come to their tour stops and write a verse of the Bible – young and old alike.

But all the above are simply facts about this Bible. Other than being handwritten, what makes this Bible so different to me? It’s not like I don’t already have an NIV Bible and several other translations as well, for that matter. I ordered this Bible, mainly, because I just had to see for myself the handwritten verses. I was not expecting what I received. I didn’t receive the unexpected when I first opened the package and saw this new Bible. Oh, it was ‘neat’ and ‘interesting’, just as I thought it would be. The night I received the Bible I didn’t really have time to do much more than skim over what was in it. Of course, I took time to find the two verses that my friend, Tammy, and her husband, Jim, had written but that was about the extent of it.

Sunday morning I got this new Bible out to use. I wanted to read over the verses that would be included in our message Sunday morning. As I started reading, THAT is when I received the unexpected. I was truly ‘mesmerized’, for lack of a better word, by the handwritten verses. Suddenly, I realized what a treasure I now had. Reading the handwritten verses caused me to be overcome with the realization of how the ORIGINAL Bible came to be – it, too, was HANDWRITTEN on scrolls! Yes, obviously I knew this already. It’s just that all of a sudden, it was no longer ‘head’ knowledge. It became HEART knowledge and I began to be so overwhelmed by it all that I don’t even know where to begin to try and describe it. It’s one of those things that is truly impossible to explain. It’s something you would just have to experience for yourself.

So, what makes this Bible different? It’s true that I was caught up in how ‘cool’ or how ‘neat’ it was. Yes, it has many inspiring stories of several of the people that wrote verses in it and what it meant to them to be able to do so; but, only when I opened it up and started reading the handwritten verses did it come alive for me! All the things that have been and will be said about it being so wonderful are true. However, if you want to experience what I think can only be described as one tenth of what the people felt that wrote the original scriptures, I highly recommend that you get your hands on one and begin reading. I pray that, when you do, the verses you read – the same verses you’ve read like me probably a million or more times before – will suddenly be more real than they ever have been.

I’m sure you can find it in several places but, if you want to get an INCREDIBLE deal on this Bible, click here to go straight to a GREAT deal on it at Christian Book.

You will NOT find a better way to spend $15.99 in my opinion! In fact, this is ten dollars less than what they had it on sale for just a couple of weeks ago when I ordered it! So, get your order in fast if you want one, because I’m sure that they won’t last long at this price!

If you order one, I would love to know what you think about it and what happens to you when you receive it and begin to read it. Would you be so kind as to leave me a comment below and let me know if you order one? Then come back and tell me if it had any affect on you. I look forward to hearing from you 🙂

Love y’all!

2 Responses to "WHAT MAKES THIS ONE DIFFERENT?"

This is so cool…I can only imagine what it must be like when it “hits” you that these words were written by someone…that the first time they were written, it was by someone sharing what God had shown them or that they had personally seen. It makes it more real than ever before. Makes you wonder about the hands that first wrote those words. Wow.

Yes, Donna – that’s exactly it! I mean, we know that it was written by hand but we have SO many available to us and so many different translations that it seems we sort of take it for granted. Almost as if we tend to get in to thinking that the Bible just ‘always was’ – but to imagine what the authors actually felt – WOW! And that is such an understatement. Thank you for taking the time to read the post and share your thoughts. That means a lot to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

