flashthoughts

ARE THERE HOLES IN YOUR PURSE?

Posted on: June 11, 2012

Once again, I let the entire week go by without reading or studying the upcoming chapter in The Story. Side Note: The Story is what we have been studying at our church, from the young ones to Children’s Church to adults, since January. The Story is “The Bible as One Continuing Story of God and His People”. 

So, there I was, sitting at my desk Sunday morning, reading over Chapter 19 and I came to the part with the scripture from Haggai. Now, I don’t know about you, but Haggai is one of those books that, honestly, I hardly ever think about. I’m just going to confess right now that I have a very hard time trying to comprehend a lot of the Old Testament books. Now, before you jump on me too bad about that statement, let me say this – YES! I wholeheartedly know that EVERY book in the Bible is important and has knowledge and lessons for me and everyone else – if not, they wouldn’t have been included in His Book. I am simply saying that I tend to ‘avoid’ reading what is hard for me to understand. Again, yes, I know that isn’t good – I’m simply confessing a fault of mine.

Anyway – back to Haggai. Because I rarely read from this book, God truly had something fresh to show me there. Let me just share with you the message of Haggai that I read and then I will tell you what truly opened my eyes to something I didn’t like seeing about myself.

In the second year of King Darius, on the first day of the sixth month, the word of the Lord came through the prophet Haggai to Zerubbabel son Shealtiel, governor of Judah, and to Joshua son of Jozadak, the high priest: This is what the Lord Almighty says: “These people say, ‘The time has not yet come to rebuild the Lord’s house.'” Then the word of the Lord came through the prophet Haggai: “Is it a time for you yourselves to be living in your paneled houses, while this house remains a ruin?” Now this is what the Lord Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. You have planted much, but harvested little. You eat, but never have enough. You drink, but never have your fill. You put on clothes, but are not warm. You earn wages, only to put them in a purse with holes in it.” This is what the Lord Almighty says: “Give careful thought to your ways. Go up into the mountains and bring down timber and build my house, so that I may take pleasure in it and be honored,” says the Lord. “You expected much, but see, it turned out to be little. What you brought home, I blew away. Why?” declares the Lord Almighty, “Because of my house, which remains a ruin, while each of you is busy with your own house. Therefore, because of you the heavens have withheld their dew and the earth its crops. I called for a drought on the fields and the mountains, on the grain, the new wine, the olive oil and everything else the ground produces, on people and livestock and on all the labor of your hands.” Then Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, Joshua son of Jozadak, the high priest, and the whole remnant of the people obeyed the voice of the Lord their God and the message of the prophet Haggai, because the Lord their God had sent him. And the people feared the Lord. Then Haggai, the Lord’s messenger, gave this message of the Lord to the people: “I am with you,” declares the Lord. So the Lord stirred up the spirit of Zerubbabel son of Shealtiel, governor of Judah, and the spirit of Joshua son of Jozadak, the high priest, and the spirit of the whole remnant of the people. They came and began to work on the house of the Lord Almighty, their God, on the twenty-fourth day of the sixth month. ~ Haggai 1:1-15

The verse that jumped out at me and disciplined me was verse 4: “Is it a time for you yourselves to be living in your paneled houses, while this house remains a ruin?” Immediately as I read those words, I KNEW without a doubt what my Father was saying to me. I have been neglecting my time with Him and, in a sense, neglecting to build His house. Meaning, I haven’t been building my relationship with Him as I should. I have not been spending ‘quality’ time with Him, listening to see what He might want to say to me. Oh sure, I’ve been reading my two or three devotionals that I get in my email each morning. I’ve been reading the scripture and devotional in my You Version reading plan every morning. But I have NOT been COMMUNICATING with Him and BUILDING our relationship. I joined a friend, Angela Mackey, in a challenge to pray continually for 30 days and I haven’t even been doing that like I should. {You can check out the challenge here}

I realize this doesn’t make me any less His child and NOTHING I do (or don’t do) could EVER make Him love me less. What it does, however, is hurt Him when I don’t spend time with Him. Don’t we want the people we love to spend time with us? I was about to say that He is no different, but I’m not sure that would be accurate. Think about how much you enjoy spending time with the ones you love and how much you love when they spend time with you – then try multiplying that by infinity and THAT is how much He wants us to choose to spend time with Him and THAT is how much He is willing to spend time with us. Then multiply by infinity how it hurts you when those you love DON’T want to spend quality time with you, and that is how it hurts Him when we choose not to spend quality time with Him.

I did NOT take this verse to mean that, if I spend more time with Him, then my “purse will be full” instead of a purse with holes – what this verse meant to me was, if I spend time with Him, then our RELATIONSHIP will be full and I will be more aware of when I hear HIS voice and it would really make my life SO much better! Not easier, necessarily, but definitely better.

I know that I have to work on this area and I am confessing this to everyone in hopes that you will all lift me up in prayer when you think about it. Specifically, I am praying for the desire of my heart to become that I SO want to spend time with Him that I can’t wait for our “quality” time to come each day. I know that He is with me 24/7 and never leaves me but I am talking about our special, quality time where we can be alone together and have a heart-to-heart, maybe even sometimes without either of us saying a word. Does that make sense to anyone but me?

I’d love to hear your thoughts about Haggai’s message. Did any of it speak to you? If you’re willing to share, I’d love you to leave me a comment and tell me about it. Do you have anything you would like for others to join you in prayer about? Leave a comment and share that request. I will join you in prayer and I’m sure others will also.

Love y’all!

2 Responses to "ARE THERE HOLES IN YOUR PURSE?"

Wow! I truly had never thought of this passage in this way…let’s be honest, I’ve never really thought about this passage at all! But the idea that I’ve neglected building God’s house, meaning I’ve neglected my relationship with Him – that really hit home.

Thanks for the “food for thought.” I’ll be chewing on this one all day!

Donna
anotherbattlewon.blogspot.com

Donna – I know exactly what you mean. I’ve never thought about that passage either. By the way – I’m STILL “chewing” on it.

Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

