flashthoughts

THANKSGIVING – OR IS IT?

Posted on: November 28, 2013

THANKSGIVING“Have a Happy Turkey Day” – although I’m guilty of having spoken those very same words in the past, when I heard someone say them to me this year, I felt my heart cringe. I felt the Holy Spirit speak to me “It’s not about the turkey. It’s about being thankful. At least, that’s what it’s supposed to be about.”

It suddenly hit me that saying “Happy Turkey Day” is equivalent to saying “Happy Holidays”, which many of us do not like. Have we become so spoiled that we don’t even remember how to be thankful for all God has blessed us with? I’m talking about things we take for granted like the fact we woke up this morning because God gave us breath. We find so many things to complain and grumble about every single day, but how often do we take time to be thankful? Today, Thanksgiving Day, is a day supposedly set aside to remind us to give thanks; but, I have to wonder if that, too, has gotten lost over the years. Do we really use this day as a day of giving thanks or is it simply a day where we have to “endure” being with family? A day to watch football or movies or even go shopping for that matter? Do we even allow ourselves just one day to sit and relax and enjoy the blessings God has bestowed upon us?

My prayer this year, and in the years to come, is that I will allow God to help me slow down and be truly thankful for all He has chosen to bless me with – the good and the bad – because if it weren’t for the bad, I wouldn’t know how to truly appreciate the good. I will also pray that everyone will take time to remember what this day is all about and that we would start remembering to be thankful all through the year and especially on this day – this day of giving thanks.

Happy Turkey Day? No, I think not. I will not be saying those words again. It’s back to Happy Thanksgiving! for this girl and I hope it will be for others, too.

I love each and every one of you reading this and I will be praying for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

CATEGORIES

