flashthoughts

ANGELS AMONG US – PART III

Posted on: November 23, 2014

ANGELS AMONG USTHE STORY OF MY FIRST AFA WOMEN’S RETREAT – PART III

I pushed open the door to find……..my SECOND God-wink. My roommate was inside, but she was no stranger! It was a sweet, sweet lady I had met a couple of years before and she is a very dear, sweet friend to me! Now I KNOW I’m God’s favorite because here He is blessing me again! Now all that was left was to see if I was going to enjoy the retreat and to see if God was going to show me just why I had to be here. 

First thing we did was go over to the cafeteria for lunch and then it was back to our “meeting room” (that’s what I’m gonna call it in this blog post anyway). I want to share a little ‘side’ story here. Let me just say this – these ladies know how to fix some food! There was so much food there was no way we would ever be able to eat it all; but, we definitely put a serious dent in it – LOL Anyway, back to my side story, this retreat was about angels, remember? Well, I just want to say that room was either very crowded with angels or else the angels that were there got very rambunctious. We were in line to get our first fill of the wonderful food I mentioned when, quite suddenly, to our left, a picture on the wall started swinging and fell to the floor! Scared us quite a bit for a second. The glass broke and went everywhere, but, thankfully, no one was hurt. We saw it happening, but had no time to do anything about it and, I need to add, there was no one near the wall where the picture was hanging. I still say the angels were just flying around and knocked it off – LOL – and now I’ll get back to my ‘regular’ story. 

The message Friday evening was wonderful and there were a lot of people being prayed for and having bondages broken. After the service was over, we were free to go to our room and turn in for the night or we could stick around for the talent show. I think pretty much everyone stayed for the talent show and it was truly great. It sure made for a late night, especially since we had to get up early the next morning, but it was so worth it! 

My roommate had told me Saturday would be an “easy” day. Yes, that’s what she told me. However, I’m thinking her idea of an “easy” day and my idea of an “easy” day, are two different things! In her defense, however, there is a reason why it wasn’t such an “easy” day for me. I’m getting a little ahead of myself, though. 

First, we gathered in front of the building where our meeting room was located to have a group picture made. Have you ever tried to get over eighty women in one picture? It was quite interesting to say the least. Then we went over to the cafeteria for breakfast and afterward it was back to our meeting room. We had some wonderful praise and worship time. During that time, I felt in my Spirit we should all march around that room seven times. Why? Again I felt, the same way they marched around the walls of Jericho seven times, y’all need to march around this room seven times to completely break the bondages that ladies were receiving prayer for Friday night. My response? “No way am I going to start marching around this room. These people don’t even know me. I am not about to do anything like that. This is my first time ever being at one of these retreats. I’m not sure it’s really You telling me to do that, Lord. I am just going to stay right here and mind my own business.” That’s exactly what I did, too. After the praise and worship time, we had what they call “Lap Time”. My roommate shared some things with us and then everyone was to go off on their own, anywhere on the campsite, and spend time with God. 

I already knew where I wanted to go. I went and sat down on a bench facing the lake. I had taken my journal with me so I could write my prayer. I figured sitting by the lake, listening to the water would be a wonderful place to write and to listen for God’s voice. 

I was not disappointed. I began writing in my journal and you are going to be very surprised at what happened then. However, you’ll have to wait for Part IV to see just what that was.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

CATEGORIES

